Met Eireann and the Met Office have revealed their Winter Storm names for 2017-2018 this morning at 12:01am 12th September Wednesday 2018.

The names are chosen by duty forecasters in Met Eireann and in the Met Office.

The criteria for a storm being named are: "A wind storm with potential for significant land-based impact has been forecast.

"A severe wind event giving rise to status Orange or status Red weather warnings.

The full list of Winter Storm names 2018-2019 are:

  1. Ali

  2. Bronagh

  3. Callum

  4. Deirdre

  5. Erik

  6. Freya

  7. Gareth

  8. Hannah

  9. Idris

  10. Jane

  11. Kevin

  12. Lily

  13. Max

  14. Niamh

  15. Oliver

  16. Peggy

  17. Ross

  18. Saoirse

  19. Tristan

  20. Violet

  21. Wyn

"Consideration will also be given to rain and snow events."

The list alternates between the genders and this order will change each year.

The letters Q, U, X, Y and Z are not used to comply with international storm naming conventions.

The system is a good way to highlight weather conditions.

This year was another successful pilot of the storm naming project and it’s great to be now making it operational.

Naming storms has been proved to raise awareness of severe weather in Ireland and the UK, crucially prompting people to take action to prevent harm to themselves or their property.

Here's a reminder of the named storms from the 2017-2018 storm season.

  1. Aileen Sept 12-13

  2. Ophelia Oct 16-17

  3. Brian Oct 21

  4. Caroline Dec 7

  5. Dylan Dec 30-31

  6. Eleanor Jan 2-3

  7. Fionn Jan 16

  8. Georgina Jan 24

  9. Emma Mar 1

  10. Hector June 13-14

Kenneth from the Donegal Weather Channel

Follow Donegal Weather Channel on other social media platforms by clicking the icons below